Share |

13 Pure Land Jhanas

13 Pure Land Jhanas (PL Jhana) related to 13 buddhas (listed below) are states of perfected awareness. In Pemako Buddhist teachings where opening and perfecting of bhumis are extensively discussed, 13 PL Jhanas are a way to determine whether the practitioner has perfected any, some or all of his or her bhumis. In this context the Pali word jhana (skt. dhyana) does not refer to absorption or meditative samadhi, as it does in theravada buddhism.


Watch Kim Rinpoche's Talk and Empowerment of 13 Pure Land Jhanas. Empowerments cannot be received from recordings.

With the perfection of a bhumi, there is no intoxication or bliss (jhana factors), only the dynamic clarity and aliveness of the natural state (atiyoga). If one gets absorbed with any of these jhanas, with any of the buddhas in their corresponding bhumi, it indicates that the bhumi is not yet perfected. The residual karma stored in the subtle body causes absorption and bliss.

13 Pure Land Jhanas needs to be learned through an empowerment given by an authorized teacher.

  1. bhumi – Amitabha, Guru manifestation: Padmasambhava

  2. bhumi - Ratnasambhava

  3. bhumi - Vairocana

  4. bhumi - Amoghasiddhi

  5. bhumi - Akshobya

  6. bhumi – Maitreya

  7. bhumi - Shakyamuni

  8. bhumi - Mahasthamaprapta

  9. bhumi - Akasagarbha

  10. bhumi - Ksitigarbha

  11. bhumi - Vajrasattva/Dorje Sempa

  12. bhumi - Vajradhara/ Dorje Chang

  13. bhumi - Kunzang Gyalpo